Tipareth: The Sixes and The Princes

Written by Jacob. Published on September 30th, 2014 at 18:30.

Tiphareth relates to the Sixes. Photo by Axank. Tiphareth relates to the Princes. Photo by Axank.

The Sixes Relate to Tipareth

6. Tipareth. Beauty, Balance. Transmutation. “The Son.” 8

Tipareth Associations

  • Location on the Tree: Second in the middle column, center of the Tree of Life, in the Pillar of Equilibrium.
  • God-Name: Tetragrammaton Aloah Va Daath.
  • Archangel-Name: Raphael.
  • Microcosmic Human Appendage: The breast.
  • Macrocosmic Astrological Entity: The Sun (Sol).

Tipareth Interpretations

The sixth sephirah is at the center of the tree of life (this is clearly visible when you include the false sephirah Daath). Tipareth connects with all 8 sephirah, excluding Malkuth which rests at the bottom of the tree. It’s location is representational, in that most paths that cross the center of the tree must pass through Tipareth to get to the other pillar.

In its associations, Tipareth is attributed to the Sun. Like the sun, the other sepiroth are cast about Tipareth (much like the planets who orbit the Sun). This sephriah is the first to reappear on the central pillar since our encounter with the four previous sephirah. Tipareth, in one way of explaining, is a transcendent force deriving from Kether. This allows us to better understand the near-manifest nature of Kether, as the ability to observe Kether’s nature is out of reach of human perception. Tipareth is balance, beauty and all things in perfect moderation.

Tipareth has the ability to transform energy. As I mentioned before, the path must pass through Tipareth to gain access to the opposite pillar. Tipareth transforms this energy in the process. The warrior Geburah must pass through, and resolves to the essence of Netzach the artist. The diplomat Chesed must pass through, and resolves to the essence of Hod the scientist. It is through this transformative process we understand that Tipareth is not a destination of inner-beauty and resolve, but a center for healing and inspiration. I refer to Tipraeth as the sephirah of Transmutation as it turns weakness into strength, pain into pleasure, and finds inner-peace in outer-chaos.

The Sixes Group

Transformation, healing, and equanimity. The suit in a harmonious, mature, and effective state. Usually desirable conditions and outcomes.

The Six of Wands

Power and spirit of the hero. A good representation of this card is the celebrated warrior in the parade who is honored for his vision and prowess. Indicates success, victory, pride and confidence, being respected, being seen as superior, and being celebrated for a great achievement. May indicate having an ego or being put on a pedestal.

The Six of Cups

Beauty and grace. Harmony in relationships, and a flowing stream of energy. Pleasure and replenishment to sentimental dryness. Emotional healing and sexual satisfaction. Previous actions resulting in positive outcomes. Clarity in illusion or dreaminess.

The Six of Swords

Mental prowess, a beautiful mind. The swords work acutely, providing its bearer with the power of wit and intellect. The ability to perceive reality transparently. Problem solving and clarity of mind. Clearly seeing what’s incoming and what’s outgoing.

The Six of Disks

Financial equilibrium, a balanced transaction. Charity to those who need it, or from those who you deserve it. Health returning to normal, mercy to the needy, gratuity from the wealthy, and debts repaid. Indicates financial or material success.

The Princes Group

The princes (formally called knights in other decks) exist within Tipareth. The princes are bringers of change and therefore transform situations to progress towards better or different goals (as they see it).

The Princes share the sub-element of air. Air is a swift element and is considerably the quickest moving of the the four. This is why traditionally all Princes/Knights appear on a horse, representing movement and progress. Air is fluid and voluminous, and can be hazardous when acting up.

The Prince of Wands

Air of Fire. The adventurer, caught up in seeing new things and enjoying all kinds of people. Generous, loyal to those he cares about, and self-indulgent. He is impulsive and spontaneous and wants to feel like he’s enjoying every minute of his time. He makes a true friend, but can often blow you off for his own pleasures whatever they may be. He can get bored easily if the energy is low. He does not let his morals slide, and will not stand for his idea of injustice. Third decant of Cancer, first and second decants of Leo relate to this person.

The Prince of Cups

Air of Water. The dreamer, caught up in fantasy and romance. More sensitive and effeminate. In touch with his feelings, sympathetic if not empathetic. His emotional elasticity usually means volatility. This means recoiling into himself and unexpected strikes at his opponents or those who try to get too close. Usually he’s considered over dramatic, but he may just be picking up on hidden or latent vibrations that others are not. Third decant of Libra, first and second decants of Scorpio.

The Prince of Swords

Air of Air. The thinker, caught up in thought and concepts. He can craft the most elaborate strategies, solve intricate puzzles, and the imagination is pumping. His mind is erratic, which means he’s usually jumping from thought to thought and is caught in conversation. His energetic mind is brilliant, but the ability to bring these thoughts into reality is far from actual. He can get distracted easily or move through situations too quickly. Crowley says third decant of Capricorn, first and second decants of Aquarius (I prefer Taurus and Gemini respectively).

The Prince of Disks

Earth of Air. The worker, caught up in tasks and material pleasures. He is found contemplating the sensuous things: good food and wine, the arts, and likes working on his talents. When interested, he can be very committed, retaining focus and drive for long periods of time—making him reliable and respectable. When uninterested, he can be rather lazy and ineffective. Fairly plain and grounded, terrifying if angered, such is the bull symbols, also signifying Taurus. Third decant of Aries, first and second decants of Taurus.