The Fives

Written by Jacob. Published on November 2nd, 2011 at 04:00.

The Fives Rider Waite Tarot

Fives — Change

Loss, Mourning, Surmount, Injustice
Descendants of the Hierophant, these cards relate to his advocacy and insight.

Overview of the Fives

The “hump”, the half-way point in the number cards. The fives aren’t very pretty. They’re all about lessons we learn in life, troubles we face.

“As fours were about stability and maintaining what you have built up, the fives are about instability and the loss of at least some of what you have. Five is the number of severity and fear but also strength. Hence, it’s no surprise that the Fives seem to pose both a severe problem, and a way to escape the fear felt at facing that problem. Dealing with this upset in the development of our passion, emotion, idea or work humbles, teaches and matures us. It isn’t a pleasant experience, and our pride, especially, is likely to suffer, but it does strengthen us.” 3

Comparing and Contrasting the Fives

The Five of Pentacles and the Five of Cups are of loss. The Pentacles are bad luck, just as the spilled cups are misfortune. The Pentacles focus more on loss of possessions or the ability to support oneself, and the Cups are more of regret and mourning the loss of something you once hold dear. One held you fiscally stable, the other emotionally. The Five of Wands is a rebellion and uprise against competing individuals. The Wands are a little more forgiving than the Swords, as the Five of Swords basically say “you’re going down whether you like it or not”. The Wands at least give you a chance to prove yourself, where as the Swords will strike you down in a heartbeat.